Skip to content

Industry / The New Kid on The Block

January 3, 2011

What is Quora? Quora is a continually improving collection of questions and answers created, edited, and organized by everyone who uses it. The most important thing is to have each question page become the best possible resource for someone who wants to know about the question.

One way you can think of it is as a cache for the research that people do looking things up on the web and asking other people. Eventually, when you see a link to a question page on Quora, your feeling should be: “Oh, great! That’s going to have all the information I want about that.” It’s also a place where new stuff–that no one has written about yet–can get pulled onto the web.

By the looks of it, (and this is based for the most part on the sheer amount of followers I have received in the last week) the growth of Quora is taking off like wild fire. One point I would like to make is that without twitter I do not see this platform growing as fast as it currently has been. We are now so finely tuned into the real world, and firmly tethered to it by the mobile web, we as a culture are becoming ever more reliant on this level of uber-connectivity, and accessibility.

I almost feel overwhelmed by it right now. There is a real desire to stay on top of things as the roll out, for fear of missing something, but one lesson I have learned, is how important it is to tune out every now and again. As humans we are already teetering on the limitations of our ability to retain the vast amounts of information we encounter daily.

I do very much like Quora, as it is another layer glazed upon our social networked landscape, however I am not sure how tough I can hang with it right now. I think I need to figure out a play that gives me more in return than the investment of time it requires to sort through at the moment.

FYI: I might just be too interested in my Spotify Beta account at the present time to dedicate the proper amount of time to investigate Quora.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

