Skip to content

Article / Give me convenience or give me death.

August 24, 2010

People often ask me why I still use twitter.com versus Tweetdeck, Destroy Twitter, or any of the existing twitter client apps. I think I figured it out on my way to work this morning while walking through Camden Plaza Park… I love the Web, and I love browser based experiences.

With every application you install and use you are creating another layer between yourself and the World Wide Web. We are creating some really awesome web-based applications that scrape, troll, and aggregate content from the best of the web, but at the same time it is taking us further and further away from the Web.

Granted the Word Wide Web, and Internet are astronomically larger than they once were back in the mid-nineties when I first started poking around it, but I think part of the original allure was that it was this endless world of data at your fingertips.

As most things go in our society, we have added a layer of convenience to the web in building these apps that have already begun doing our work for us. I am all for progress, but at times I still miss the direct one-to-one interaction between a human and the World Wide Web.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

