Skip to content

Industry / GotoAndPlay

May 20, 2010

I have recently tasked my self with a few assignments. The first is to learn HTML5 and JQuery. The second is to reacquaint myself with Javascript and CSS. The third is to accept a few select freelance design projects that include some coding. Why you might ask? Is it because I have all this free time on my hands? Is it because I am not challenged at work? Nope. I have an extremely hectic schedule at Hush Studios, where I serve as The Director of Interactive, and as far as satisfaction at my job, I love it. I get to work with some extremely talented people, and have a corral of clients whom I really dig, and allow us to do some killer work.

So why you ask? Well, the answer is that I feel as though I needed to get back to my roots a bit. When I was ten, I was writing code in basic for the Commodore 64 and the TRS-80 computers, making some very simple geometric shapes move on the screen, making them swap colors, and playing with sound. In the mid-nineties I would be awake until sunrise on almost a daily basis, surfing, cutting, pasting, and writing code to bring my creative endeavors to life. I started with things like DHTML, Javascript, HTML, and animated gifs. Shortly thereafter I found Flash 3, which was love at first site… pun intended. The point being, I was making things, not for clients, not for recognition, and inclusion into books, blogs, and magazines, that all came much later. I was making things because I loved it. I felt as though I finally found a canvas that spoke to me.

Before the Internet, I ran a mixed media gallery, designed a street-level clothing line, and launched a skateboard company. When I was eight my mother asked why I had the VCR, cassette player, turntables, and cross-fader all hooked up in my room.. I told her I was making movies and music that were not meant to play together… play together. This was something neither one of us understood at the time. I also think it made her worried I would end up some recluse later in life.

Enough about my childhood, and early years, and back to the point of this blog post. As the Director of Interactive, I need to be looking, trying, making, doing, and experimenting. Technology, society, and life in general move faster than ever these days, and if you are not constantly learning, trying, or failing, you will never be succeeding. My advice to anyone reading this post is to get out there and make shit and break shit, most of the fun is in finding the answer. The reward is your success.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    May 20, 2010 2:01 am

    hear hear!

    Spot on, my friend. Thanks for sharing this word of inspiration and exhortation.

  2. May 20, 2010 2:51 am

    Boba Fett is rad. Thanks.

  3. Lindsey permalink
    May 20, 2010 1:34 pm

    Great post and good perspective on what the role of anyone outside the standard design + dev roles need to be.

    If you don’t know how to make it – how can you sell it? fix it? critique it?

  4. May 20, 2010 2:24 pm

    Admirable my friend. I like your style. I dove into CSS w/ an SVA course about 1 yr ago & enjoyed it but realized that for me coding is something i have 2 do on a consistent basis or it’s like a foreign language. Like you are doing i just need 2 make time. As you were soldier.

    gc

  5. May 20, 2010 3:26 pm

    Exactly where I’m @. Fresh to see the same thinking in another burrough in another assassin.

  6. May 20, 2010 8:46 pm

    greg, you are the man sir

  7. May 24, 2010 1:14 am

    You made me smile:) THX!

Leave a Reply

