Skip to content

Industry / HBO.com Redesign

February 4, 2010

HBO.com

It is so rare that I come across a site for a major media company that seems to really get it. I was so pleased to see the new HBO website. They obviously did their research into  emerging user experience models. The site employs many of the features and behaviors of a website, a game console, and menu systems used on digital television and platforms like Boxee and Apple TV all rolled up into one.

I think this is the first website launch that, I was not involved in, and  felt compelled enough to blog about it… and that means something… to me at least. It means that for those of us who have been pushing in this direction for the past few years were on to something. It also means that there will be more like this soon. I love it when a plan comes together.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 7:54 pm

    You should take a look at http://www.moviecitypack.com which we launch in December 2009
    I see HBO.COM has more details of design but it took much more time and $$$ in developing it

  2. BlinxXed permalink
    March 4, 2010 11:11 pm

    RGA continues to build overcomplicated Flash sites. I’m betting HBO has a new site design within 24 months that has everything pulled out of Flash.

    Can’t wait to see the backlash when the iPad is released and a “media” site is un-usable on a device that was build for media playback.

  3. March 19, 2010 11:07 pm

    I don’t like the HBO website. It always seem to flicker with scroll bars, slow to load on my DSL, I miss the old site. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.

  4. April 6, 2010 4:35 pm

    Joe you have DSL? Are you posting from the past? (I.E. 2002)

Leave a Reply

