Skip to content

Work / Lowes: Welcome back Spring

October 24, 2008

sunnyville_600

Agency: Tribal DDB Chicago / Studio: Firstborn View Site

Thanks to a thriving partnership between Firstborn and Tribal DDB Chicago, Lowe’s spring campaign came to life online with the virtual neighborhood of Sunnyville. Complete with VO from Gene Hackman, the experience combines valuable product information with over 90 HD video clips and various interactive games that range from eat calculators to lawn mowing competitions.
This site truly set a standard of what online video could be. The key to the sucess, I believe was that the production was conceived from a digital perspective from the get go. I handled nearly every aspect of the video shoot, from casting and direction to post production and integration; but I must say I encountered a first when the animatronic bear I flew in for the day, arrived on set.
For the shoot I started by casting and shooting the talent for sceen test and ran a two day casting call. Once the talent was chosen, I handled the wardrobe, prop, and on-stage needs.  During the pre-production phase I worked closely with our Creative Director/3D Artist and my Director of Photography to cooridinate the many tracking shots, and crane shots we had planned. I knew that the hyper-realistic look of the 3D would be unforgiving, so the video quality had to be incredibly crisp. We shot everything at full HD (1080/24p).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

